don't stop imaging

Another Ghost

I’ve made my second ghost in my series of… however many I feel like making. I’m thinking of aiming around four, but we’ll see if I can stop there.

Here’s the first version of what I came up with:

 

But I like the second version better. The fog is too cliché.

 

And I did pretty much the same thing as before. Here are my original images:

Comments on: "Another Ghost" (4)

  1. I am wondering — why did you choose to use people in formal wear?

    I feel like with ghosts, that’s a real cliche, to see them in long, flowy clothing accentuates their ghosty-ness, and, quite frankly, it’s just too easy. I think you can do something cooler.

    My suggestions:

    1) Naked ghosts. What need to ghosts have for clothing? Additionally, if they are supposed to be disembodied spirits of people, why do we see them as clothed? It doesn’t make a lot of sense to me, because we, in our natural forms, are not clothed.

    2) Make the clothing (if there must be some), fit the atmosphere. Why would a ghost in the woods, assuming that it’s haunting the place that it died, be wearing formal wear? Do you go trucking through the woods in formal wear?

    3) Make the clothing fit the atmosphere of the time of the person who died. Maybe there is a field where you shot, or the woods is there, but perhaps 100 years ago there was a town, or a city, or something else. That way you could contrast the clothing with the environment in a way that makes more sense. It may be necessary to see some of the previous environment to have this make sense, though.

    Just some thoughts.

  2. @Gina: These images were taken in my parents woods, and Rachel can only work with images that already exist. She can’t make COMPLETELY new ones out of nothing. Yes, there are stock photos of images similar to what you are talking about, but I think that would be making these images almost too cheesy.

    As an aside, the first image in the series was a woman in her wedding dress as a ghost. It isn’t a series if there is nothing relating them. Besides, there is no reason that woods wouldn’t exist near a chapel. It is a perfectly plausible environment for ghostly appearances.

  3. Gina,

    I don’t necessarily agree that formalwear on ghosts is cliché. When I think of ghosts I think of rattling chains, lost soldiers, and spooky zombies, not refined people, which is kind of what I’m going for. I find the woods an eerie place to begin with, a place that you might find a spectre. My ghosts aren’t supposed to scare people or act as imaginary creatures like wood nymphs, they are supposed to come from a place a little too close, they are supposed to evoke strangeness, like a wedding in a forest.

    However, I like your idea of playing with the scenery. Because this is a series, I can transition from forest, to bus stop, to home, to… Agnes Scott? I don’t know. I definitely think it’s something to toy with!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

